Kahr Handgun Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi - Newbie here and just bought a CM9 and love it. I keep the gun in a safe at home, but want to make the gun inoperable if I want. (every safe , lock etc can be defeated).

If I remove the guide rod and spring, will the gun be able to fire a round.

·
Super Moderator
23,388 Posts
Welcome..............

·
Registered
509 Posts
Welcome to the best little Kahr Forum on the WWW.

I think deliberately making your handgun inoperable is a bad idea. The only thing I'd do would be to remove the Slide but no dis-assembly beyond that and even this is a bad idea if it is your only firearm.

You can treat yourself and your family to a Firearm Safety Course. Teaching your family respect for all firearm goes a long way. I bet you've thought of these things before but I can't think of any other answers for you. Good luck.

·
Super Moderator
23,388 Posts
Great advice............!!!!!

Reactions: John70

·
Registered
2,945 Posts
Welcomw......tojo107.

·
Premium Member
8,021 Posts
Welcome to the Forum tojo. I'll join the others on the Keepers Post #4. Teach to respect a weapon and don't disarm it.

Reactions: John70

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Welcome tojo107,

Remove the magazine and keep it in a separate location.
Thanks all for your input and welcome. Great site.

I want to make the gun inoperable, advice not to do so aside. I have multiple teens in the house with friends over, sleepovers etc. If my wife and I out for an extended time, she wants to be sure someone determined who got around the safe (watch a couple Google videos to see how easy that is for the determined person), can't operate the gun on these occasions.

I don't want to take the slide as it is too big to pocket. Taking the magazine would still allow someone to load one in the chamber and fire as there is no magazine disconnect.